oloid live

christian zehnder / gregor hilbe      guest: matthias loibner

With their voices, drums and the archaic sub-basses of their wooden „Organ Mouth Pipes“, Christian Zehnder and Gregor Hilbe orbit the magical sculpture „Oloid“, combining roots and avant-garde music into a peculiar, singular experience beyond any categorisations of style.

Cosmopolitan and drummer Gregor Hilbe (Tangocrash, Vienna Art Orchestra) moves uncompromisingly in free fall between a symbiosis of jazz avant-garde and electronic music. Christian Zehnder (Stimmhorn, Kraah) on the other hand is to be found on the very frontiers of the unchained, archaic and unfathomable emotionality of the human voice within the alpine space. Thus, they both have their own unmistakeable artistic cosmos, which could not be more different. It is this point in particular which fuels the interest of these musicians in each others work and lets their musical systems expand into a new whole, using amongst other things their quirky choice of instruments, such as their „Organ Mouth Pipes“. Their work – conceptionally well-considered and yet invariably lively – combines the traditions of different ages and transcends them into the present. It's not just on their unprecedented studio recordings that the two sound tinkerers prove their skills. Nobody would have thought it possible for them to be able to translate their ambitious studio work for the stage. For their impressive live performance, they are now joined in their orbit by one of the most innovative and well-known hurdy-gurdy virtuosos of our time:

Matthias Loibner has been wandering through all musical styles and scenes for more than 25 years. In the fascinating sound of his instrument, simultaneously old and modern, he collects impressions of his travels and encounters, and does so with an incomparable virtuosity and expressiveness. This expressive manner of playing has brought him the nickname „Jimi Hendrix of the hurdy-gurdy“. However, he is also responsible for the first adaptation of Joseph Haydn’s works for the hurdy-gurdy (lira organizzata), has gone on the trail of xylophone music in South and East Africa, and of the loneliness of the organ-grinder in Schubert's Winter Journey. His profound repertoire between classical and electronic music, between tradition and imagination accompanies him on his ceaseless search for new sounds.

 

”...an outstanding, irritating album straddling the border between improvisation, contemporary music, meta-folklore and sound sculpture... With it, they frequently succeed in surprising the listener and creating hitherto unheard sounds. This is improvisation on another level, or to be precise, a self-sustaining form of music in its own right, independent of existing styles.”

- jazz thing


further press quotations

photos

 

participants


christian zehnder (CH)
vocals, organ mouth pipes, bandoneon

gregor hilbe (FL)
percussion, organ mouth pipes, electronics

matthias loibner (A)
hurdy-gurdy, electronics
website    portrait

amadis brugnoni
technics & sound design


supported by: Fachausschuss Musik Basel Land/Basel Stadt, Kulturstiftung Liechtenstein, Fondation SUISA

 

videos

oloid (studio)
oloid (studio)

oloid (live)
matthias loibner

matthias loibner
matthias loibner

 

samples

Recordstore Traumton    iTunes

oloid live

christian zehnder / gregor hilbe      gast: matthias loibner

Mit Stimme, Schlagwerk und den archaischen Sub-Bässen ihrer hölzerner ”Organ Mouth Pipes” umkreisen Christian Zehnder und Gregor Hilbe die magische Skulptur ”Oloid” und verbinden in ihrem Klangwerk Roots- mit Avangarde-Musik zu einem eigenwilligen, singulären Erlebnis jenseits jeglicher Stilbegriffe.

Der Kosmopolit und Schlagzeuger Gregor Hilbe (Tangocrash, Vienna Art Orchestra) bewegt sich kompromisslos im freien Fall zwischen Symbiose von Jazz-Avantgarde und Elektronik. Christian Zehnder (Stimmhorn, Kraah) dagegen findet man im Grenzraum der entfesselten, archaischen und unergründlichen Emotionalität der menschlichen Stimme des alpinen Raums. So haben beide ihren eigenen, unverwechselbaren künstlerischen Kosmos, welcher gegensätzlicher nicht sein könnte. Gerade hier entfacht sich das Interesse der Musiker aneinander und lässt ihre musikalischen Systeme, u.a. mit einem eigenwilligen Instrumentarium, wie ihren ”Organ Mouth Pipes” in ein neues Ganzes expandieren. Ihr konzeptionell durchdachtes, dabei stets lebendiges Werk vereint Traditionen verschiedener Epochen und transzendiert sie in die Gegenwart. Nicht nur auf Ihrer beispiellosen Studio Einspielung beweisen die beiden Klangtüftler ihr Können. Niemand hätte es für möglich gehalten, dass sie das ambitionierte Studiowerk auch live auf der Bühne umzusetzen wissen. Für ihre beeindruckende Live-Performance haben sie jetzt neu einen der innovativsten und bekanntesten Drehleier-virtuosen unserer Zeit mit in ihre Umlaufbahn genommen:

Matthias Loibner ist seit mehr als 25 Jahren auf der Wanderschaft durch alle musikalischen Stile und Szenen. Im faszinierenden Klang seines gleichsam alten und modernen Instruments sammelt er die Eindrücke seiner Reisen und Begegnungen und ist darin in seiner Virtuosität und Ausdrucksweise unvergleichlich. Sein expressives Spiel hat ihm den Beinamen "Jimi Hendrix der Drehleier" eingebracht, doch zeichnet er auch verantwortlich für die Ersteinspielung von Joseph Haydns Werken für Orgelleier (lira organizzata), spürte der Xylophonmusik in Süd‐ und Ostafrika nach oder der Einsamkeit des Leiermanns in Schuberts Winterreise. Sein profundes Repertoire zwischen Klassik, Elektronik, Tradition und Imagination begleitet ihn auf der ständigen Suche nach neuen Klängen.

 

”…Ein herausragend, irritierendes Album an der Grenze von Improvisation, zeitgenössischer Moderne, Meta-Folklore und Klangskulptur… Damit schaffen sie es, an vielen Stellen zu überraschen und bislang Unerhörtes zu kreieren. Das ist Improvisation auf einer anderen Ebene, in ihrer Art genau genommen eine eigenständige, stilautarke Musikform.”

- jazz thing


Weitere Pressezitate

Fotos

 

mitwirkende


christian zehnder (CH)
vocals, organ mouth pipes, bandoneon

gregor hilbe (FL)
percussion, organ mouth pipes, electronics

matthias loibner (A)
hurdy-gurdy (Drehleiher), electronics
webseite    porträt

amadis brugnoni
technics & sounddesign


gefördert durch: Fachausschuss Musik Basel Land/Basel Stadt, Kulturstiftung Liechtenstein, Fondation SUISA

 

videos

oloid (studio)
oloid (studio)

oloid (live)
matthias loibner

matthias loibner
matthias loibner

 

hörproben

Recordstore Traumton    iTunes